Tripura, Meghalaya, Nagaland elections: EC likely to announce dates at 12 pm today

Election Commission is likely to announce the poll dates for Assembly elections in Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagalandat 12 PM today.

Image for representation only Image for representation only

The Assembly elections are likely to be held in February and voting in all the three northeastern states will be conducted in a single phase.

Assembly elections are due in Nagaland, Meghalaya and Tripura in February-March this year. The terms of the Assemblies in Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura – with 60 seats each – will expire on 6, 13 and 14 March respectively.

At present, Meghalaya has Congress government, with Mukul Sangana serving as a Chief Minister.

In Tripura, the current government is of CPI-M, with Manik Sarkar as CM; Also TR Zeliang is the CM of Nagaland, who comes from Nagaland People’s Front.

Currently, BJP has formed a government in 19 states. It will be interesting to seehow the saffron party will go about the elections.

On Thursday, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh had said that the election in Nagaland will be held on schedule, amid demands by the state’s civil society groups for deferring the polls to facilitate a solution to the vexed Naga insurgency issue.

This was conveyed by the home minister to Nagaland chief minister TR Zeliang when the latter met him in New Delhi on Wednesday.

“HM also told the Nagaland Chief Minister that announcing the dates for assembly elections is the prerogative of the Election Commission and the elections have to be held on schedule,” the office of the home minister tweeted.

Pages: Visit First Page | 1 | 2 | 3 | Visit Next → Page | Visit Last Page

Leave a Reply